Our Team

The Nanovision team includes world-renowned scientists, engineers, surgeons, researchers, and entrepreneurs.


Our Team

The Nanovision team includes world-renowned scientists, engineers, surgeons, researchers, and entrepreneurs.

Scott Thorogood

Scott Thorogood

Chairman, CEO and Co-founder

Scott Thorogood is a serial CEO and entrepreneur with over 25 years of international senior management and turnaround experience, focused on life sciences, software, cybersecurity and other technology initiatives.

William Freeman

William Freeman, MD

Medical Consultant, Director and Co-founder

William R. Freeman, M.D. is a Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology, Director of the UCSD Jacobs Retina Center and Vice Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology UCSD Shiley Eye Institute.

Paul Citron

Paul Citron, MSEE, Ph.D. (hon.)

Board of Directors Observer

Paul Citron retired in 2003 from Medtronic, Inc., a pioneer in the medical device industry and the largest developer of implantable therapeutic devices. He was Vice President of Technology Policy and Academic Relations.

Gabriel A. Silva, MSc, PhD

Gabriel A. Silva, MSc, PhD


Dr. Gabriel A. Silva is Professor and Vice Chair of the Department of Bioengineering, and Professor of Neurosciences at the University of California San Diego.

Larry Murril

Larry Murrill


Larry is the managing partner of Murrill/Gerbino, LLP, a San Diego based CPA firm specializing in the needs of emerging businesses and their owners.

Gari Cheever

Gari Cheever

Outside General Counsel and Managing General Partner of Gunderson Dettmer

Gari is a founding partner of the Gunderson Dettmer San Diego and Los Angeles office.

Hiren Thacker

Hiren D. Thacker, PhD


Dr. Hiren D. Thacker leads technology pathfinding and development for retinal prosthesis and low light image sensors at Nanovision.

Sue Bauchner

Sue Bauchner, PhD, PMP

Director of Quality

Dr. Bauchner leads the Nanovision engineering effort, coordinating collaborations of a diverse team of engineers, scientists, surgeons, faculty & students.


Our Advisory Board

Shu Chien, MD, PhD


Paul Citron

Gert Cauwenberghs, PhD


Yuh-Hwa Lo, PhD

Mike Sailor, PhD


The Honorable Jay M. Cohen

Our Technology icon

Our technology is singularly unique in how the sub retinal device tailors the electrical neural stimulation parameters to the individual patient. It is the most advanced technology available capable of achieving such a degree of patient specificity.

Ready to learn more?

We are the first group to show that an optoelectronic nanowire technology can successfully achieve photoelectronic stimulation of the retina and retinal tissues.

Contact Us